Pan Africanist Congress of Azania (PAC)

The Pan Africanist Congress of Azania (PAC) was formed in 1959 as a breakaway from the African National Congress. Influenced by the Africanist ideals of Kwame Nkrumah, the PAC promotes the return of the land to the indigenous people.
The PAC was outlawed with the ANC in 1960 after the Sharpeville massacre. Its leaders were exiled or detained for long periods. These included Robert Sobukwe, its founder and leader, who was incarcerated in Robben Island until 1969 and then placed under house arrest until his death in 1978.
The party's support has been steadily eroding since 1994. In 2003, Patricia de Lille - then a PAC MP - left to form her own party, the Independent Democrats. Former deputy chairperson of the party, Themba Godi broke away from the party during the 2007 floor-crossing window period to form the African People's Convention (APC). And then in October 2008, former secretary-general of the party, Thami Ka Plaatjie, followed suit when he left the PAC to form the Pan Africanist Movement (PAM).

Former Apla commander, Letlapa Mphahlele was re-elected as president for a second term at the party's national elective congress in 2012. He was then expelled in May 2013 amidst allegations of trying to cause a division in the party.
The party is now led by Alton Mphethi who was confirmed leader after Mphahlele’s supporters took the matter to court. Mpheti was then charged with the murder of a Swazi national and new president Luthando Mbinda was elected in 2014.
Expelled Mphahlele was re-elected as president is 2015 in Mangaung. Mphahlele and Mbinda are currently still fighting over leadership and there is therefore no clarity on who leads the party.

In the 2011 local government elections, the PAC won 147 589 votes (0.43%).
Three years later, the party the party won 0.21% support in the general elections which gave it 1 seat in parliament.

The PAC is yet to launch its 2016 local government election manifesto.

Party List

SABC © 2016