African Independent Congress (AIC)

The African Independent Congress (AIC) is a regional party founded by the people of Matatiele and surrounding rural communities.
Established on 12 December 2005 after the ruling-ANC decided to incorporate the area under the Eastern Cape in August of that year, the party participated in the March 1 local government elections. It won ten seats in the Matatiele municipality.
Dubbing themselves "victims of political manipulation", the AIC has labelled the ANC as arrogant for "ignoring the poor people of Matatiele". This - for the party - was one of the main reasons in forming the AIC.
The AIC says that it "does not want to govern" but rather advocates a more inclusive type of governance model where ordinary citizens voices are considered in the political-decision making process. The AIC says that it is also opposed to any notions of a one party state where a "ruling party takes decisions affecting the whole nation at party conferences".

The AIC has an interim national structure called the NEC. It is appointed by twenty (20) branches, including AIC areas and a 25 000 card-carrying membership.
According to party sources, the AIC is led by 18 NEC members with Mandla Galo as the acting president, GZ Ntola as the secretary-general and Msa Gccabo designated as the party's national chairperson.

In the 2011 local government elections, the party attracted 47 807 votes (0.14%).
For the 2014 elections, the AIC contested at national level, the EC and Gauteng. The party emerged with 3 seats in the National Assembly (or 0.53% support)

The AIC is yet to launch its 2016 local government election manifesto.

Party List

SABC © 2016