Minority Front (MF)

The Minority front was formed on the 1st November 1993. The party is ethnically based and concentrates solely on the Indian vote. Most of its support is found in KwaZulu-Natal, which has the largest Indian population in the country.

Stemming from former leader Amichand Rajbansi’s experience in the House of Delegates in the 1980s, the strategy of the MF is to work for change from within the system.

The MF announced on 19 January 2012 that Shameen Thakur-Rajbansi, the widow of its’ late leader Amichand Rajbansi, would take over as party president.

Thakur-Rajbansi’s appointment was widely expected even amid the numerous problems she had with the party leadership and members.

The Minority Front contested the 2004 elections both locally and nationally. The party won two seats in the national assembly.

It also contested the 2009 elections and won one seat in the national assembly.

The party has in recent years faced political turbulence with all but one of its councillors leaving their positions on the eThekwini council.

Thakur-Rajbansi occupies the party's only seat in the KwaZulu-Natal legislature.


This is a summary of the Minority Front’s election manifesto:

-The party is seeking equal funding for all wards.
- It seeks to address poverty and inequality by increasing free basic services (FBS).
- Restructure councils that have been infested with corruption e.g.: Ethekweni, Msunduzi etc.
- Root out nepotism.
- Full councils must make final decisions for transparency on all decisions.
- Vacancies should be filled on merit for efficient functioning.
- Community liaison officers should be elected by a local community.
- Community liaison officers should have the necessary skills to manage relation between the committee and council.
- Learnerships must be fairly distributed to youth on a non- racial basis.
- Local economic development should means taking SMME training to every single township home and business.
- By-laws for street-vendors should be relaxed.

Party List

SABC © 2016