Africa Muslim Party (AMP)

The African Muslim Party was formed on 29 February 1994. It was formed on the basis of the Quran and Sunna to protect Islamic values.


The party president is Wasfie Hassiem. The secretary is Kauthar Londt.


The party has participated in the elections since 1994.

It competed in the 1999 elections, but only in the Western Cape province, achieving 9,513 votes from the single province. The AMP later competed in elections for the Cape Town metropolitan area and received two seats in the local legislature.

After sitting out the 2004 elections, the AMP competed again for the Cape Town Metro council in 2006, gaining three seats. After the 2006 local government elections, it joined the multi-party coalition led by Democratic Alliance which supported the DA''s Helen Zille for mayoral candidate.

Its participation in the coalition was short lived and it was expelled in January 2007 when it was revealed that AMP councillor Badih Chaaban tried to make a coalition deal with the African National Congress (ANC) in which Chaaban would become the mayor in
return for toppling the DA-led coalition.

This plot had failed when the Independent Democrats (ID) joined the multi-party coalition and bolstered Zille''s position.

Party List

SABC © 2016