African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP)

The African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP) was formed in December 1993 with the aim of representing South African Christians in parliament.
Founded by Reverend Kenneth Meshoe, the ACDP sees itself as representing “Bible Believing Christians” and “those who have a high regard for moral values”. The ACDP’s message of defending and upholding Christian values is aimed at voters who want to preserve morality and protect the integrity of the family structure.
The ACDP was the only party in the National Assembly that voted against the adoption of the Constitution in 1994, citing moral and Biblical objections to some of the document's clauses. According to its 2009 election manifesto, the ACDP stands for "Christian principles, freedom of religion, a free market economy, family values, community empowerment and human rights in a federal system".
It and the Freedom Front Plus were the only parties unaffected by the September 2005 floor-crossing period.
In June 2013, party leader Kenneth Meshoe announced that he would be leaving parliament to focus on building his party ahead of the 2014 elections, but would remain its leader. Meshoe at the time assured voters that he would return after the 2014 poll "with an army".

Reverend Kenneth Meshoe started out as a teacher before embarking on a successful career as a pastor and political leader.

Rev Meshoe founded the African Christian Democratic Party in December 1993, believing that Christians should be in positions of leadership at the forefront of change in South Africa. He has been a member of the National Assembly since 1994.

Rev Meshoe was awarded an Honorary Doctorate (Doctor of Humane Letters) by Bethel Christian College of Riverside, California, USA in 1994 and was also appointed to serve as an Associate Member on the Board of Regents of Bethel College.

Reverend Meshoe and his wife, Lydia, also run a successful church, the Hope of Glory Tabernacle accommodating up to 4 000 people.

Wayne M. Thring is the Deputy President. Thring joined the ACDP in 1995. He was then elected to the position of Deputy Chairman in KZN and subsequently to the position of Chairman in 1997, a position he held for over 10 years. He was later elected to the position of Provincial Leader.

In the 1994 elections, the party secured two seats, six seats in both the 1999 and 2004 polls and three seats in 2009.
The party managed to win 209 550 votes or 0.61% support in the 2011 local elections.

The ACDP is yet to launch their 2016 election manifesto

Party List

SABC © 2016